Homesteading Love

One of my life dreams is to homestead. One day I would love to live in a small house on a few acres. I want to raise chickens for fresh eggs and goats for milk (and they eat buckthorn!). I want a large vegetable garden for fresh vegetables produced in ways I trust. I want to get honey and beeswax from the bees my fiance (who will be my husband then!) tends. Not me, because I’m afraid of bees. I want to make food from the earth and preserve it for the winter.

white chicken

Chickens! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This dream is a long ways off from fruition. I have the rest of the year in undergrad, then four or five years of professional school. I will have to work for at least a few years before we’ll be ready for a full time homestead. But I can dream and read about other homesteaders.

Here are some fun homesteading posts I’ve enjoyed from other bloggers:

General

Life on the Farm Ain’t Laid Back from The Elliot Homestead

Your Custom Homestead (click for my review) by Jill Winger

Gardening

DIY Spinning Composter from Weed Em and Reap

Attracting Beneficial Insects to Your Garden from Yearning and Learning

Where to Buy Seeds from Five Little Homesteaders

30 Minute, 30 Dollar Raised Bed from Five Little Homesteaders

Preserving the Harvest

Water Bath Canning Tips for True Beginners from Five Little Homesteaders

Super Simple Refrigerator Pickles from Five Little Homesteaders

How to Render Lard from Yearning and Learning

Goats

Guide to Raising and Milking Goats from Weed Em and Reap

Chickens

Raising Backyard Chickens from Live Simple

5 Insider Tricks for Easy Backyard Chickens from Blue Yurt Farms

Building a Chicken Coop from Scratch from Live Simply

Do any of you homestead? Or would you like to some day? I’d love to hear your story!

About How We Flourish

Welcome! I'm Chloe. I have a passion for creating a healthy life and a healthy environment. Join me as I explore homemade and reusable products, essential oils, and real food. Look around a bit. I look forward to getting to know you.
This entry was posted in 60-Day Blogging Challenge, Monthly Link Love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homesteading Love

  1. Nice roundup of posts. Thanks for including mine!!!

  2. It is a wonderful dream to have. I urge you to never give up on your dreams either. At 54, I am still hoping that I can at some point manage to get myself a couple of acres, so I can do exactly the same as you. While I had hit a few obstacles I still have the dream and still believe that it will someday come to fruition.

  3. I’m with you! It is my ultimate goal to have my own mini (or medium or LARGE…hehe) farm where my husband and I can live sustainably! I think that would be so incredible. One day…one day 🙂

    And the bee thing…yea me too. I told my husband we need to get bees but hire someone else to tend them and he’s always like, “You can’t do that.” But I don’t want to get stung!!

    • Healthy People Healthy Planet says:

      Me neither! I’m so terrified of bees! My fiance loves them. He thinks they’re cute! I don’t get it…

      But that’s fine by me. He can keep the bees and the flowers on the other side of the land and just bring me the honey.

Join the Discussion!