Raw Chocolate Almond Brownies

Will LOVES to bake. It’s what he does for fun. Therefore, I like to bake for him when I get the chance. But who can compete with someone who says, “I’m bored. I’m going to make a pie”? Keep in mind, that includes making the crust from scratch using lard.

Anyway, so when I told him I think I might have a gluten sensitivity, he was so upset by the idea that he couldn’t bake for me. I told him that he’ll have to find a way. He says it’s just not the same. So for his birthday this year, I decided to find a gluten-free dessert recipe (it ended up not being something to bake) to show him delicious things can be made without wheat. I came up with this delicious recipe, adapted from The Whole Life Nutrition Cookbook‘s Raw Chocolate Hazelnut Brownies. It’s not Elimination Diet food, but it’s clean and awesome.

Raw Chocolate Almond Brownies

Ingredients:
1.5 cup raw almonds
1 cup dates
1/2 cup peanut butter
Heaping 1/4 cup cocoa powder

Directions:
1. Place almonds into food processor and process until finely ground
2. Add dates, peanut butter, and cocoa powder and process until completely mixed (add more or less dates and cocoa powder based on preferences)
3. Firmly press evenly into an 8×8 pan. Sprinkle with shredded coconut or nuts if desired. Cut into 16 squares and refrigerate for up to a week.

Notes:
The original recipe called for 1-1.5 cups medjool dates and 4-6 tbsp cocoa powder. I felt the measurements I gave were good. They were not too sweet and didn’t have an overpowering chocolate flavor. The almond flavor really came through. Feel free to switch up the nuts, nut butter, and type of dates (I didn’t use medjool since we had a different type) as your tastes and available ingredients allows.

Sorry for the awful photo quality on this one

Sorry for the awful photo quality on this one

Mildly crumbly, but presses down nicely

Mildly crumbly, but presses down nicely

Wildcrafting Wednesday

About How We Flourish

Welcome! I'm Chloe. I have a passion for creating a healthy life and a healthy environment. Join me as I explore homemade and reusable products, essential oils, and real food. Look around a bit. I look forward to getting to know you.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Raw Chocolate Almond Brownies

  1. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE raw browines! Thanks for sharing on Wildcrafting Wednesday!

    • Healthy People Healthy Planet says:

      Thanks for visiting! I had never had raw brownies before attempting this recipe and was amazed by the simplicity and deliciousness!

  2. Pingback: 38 No-bake Treats & Desserts | The Skinny Pear

Join the Discussion!

