Dorm Eating: “Kitchen” Space

Today I thought it would be fun to show you my “kitchen space” in my dorm room. When you are as restricted in space and equipment as a dorm room, you have to get creative!

Here is my “pantry.” We have the same type of desk in most of the dorms, so I have made a habit of keeping all my food in the large bottom drawer. Highlights: all of my oatmeal ingredients, dried fruit, peanuts, and apple cider vinegar.

Dorm PantryMy dishes just live on my desk:

Dorm CupboardOf course, I have to have a dorm fridge. I would probably recommend buying one over renting one. While it depends on the price to rent through your college versus the price of the fridge you would buy, buying a fridge will likely be cheaper than renting for 4 years.

What I did was even better, though. Will’s sister graduated from college the year before I graduated from high school, so I was allowed to take her old mini-fridge to school. Buying/borrowing used is a great option!

Right now it is just being used to store extra beauty supplies, cheese and chocolate.

Dorm Fridge

Oh, look! An apple I forgot about!

And here is my work space: the top of my fridge. Here is where my hot pot, filtered water pitcher, tea, and mug hang out. It’s a small space, but it serve my purposes. 🙂

Dorm CounterI hope you enjoyed my “kitchen” tour! One day I’ll have a real one to show you!

 

About How We Flourish

Welcome! I'm Chloe. I have a passion for creating a healthy life and a healthy environment. Join me as I explore homemade and reusable products, essential oils, and real food. Look around a bit. I look forward to getting to know you.
This entry was posted in 60-Day Blogging Challenge, Dorm Eating and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dorm Eating: “Kitchen” Space

  1. Looks better than my “dorm kitchen” did! And I had the EXACT same mini fridge! My dad got it from a friend who’s youngest son just graduated college for free and so I got to take it to school with me. It had been around for MANY years of college! It wasn’t great but it worked for the most part! Haha.

    • Healthy People Healthy Planet says:

      Nice! Old free fridges are the best!

      My favorite thing about this fridge is that it stores beer in the summer at my future in-laws’ house. This year when they were defrosting it so I could take it back, My fiance’s dad asked if I wanted to take it as is…filled with beer bottles. It’s funny because I hate beer and my campus is dry.

Join the Discussion!

