Dorm Eating: Snacks

English: Healthy snack

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Every college student needs a healthy supply of snacks. And by healthy, I mean large. But those snacks should be healthy as well. This shouldn’t be that hard. I mean, I know college students have some sort of weird fixation on chips, cookies, pop, and Ramen, but it is really easy to actually have good snacks! Below I list some healthy, clean eating snack ideas to keep around. Some will require you to take advantage of kitchen time (if I don’t give a recipe, I either don’t know a good one, or there are too many types, like cookies), while others are ready to eat when you are. For foods that appear on both lists, they can easily be homemade or store bought. Just make sure to check the ingredients before buying.

Many of the following foods will keep well in air-tight containers. For the foods that do spoil (like dairy), make sure that you only buy as much as you can eat by the expiration date.

Kitchen Snacks

Pantry Snacks

  • Nuts and Seeds
  • Larabars
  • Dried Fruit
  • Fresh Fruit
  • Vegetables
  • Jerky
  • Yogurt
  • Cheese Sticks

What are your favorite snacks to keep around?

About How We Flourish

Welcome! I'm Chloe. I have a passion for creating a healthy life and a healthy environment. Join me as I explore homemade and reusable products, essential oils, and real food. Look around a bit. I look forward to getting to know you.
This entry was posted in 60-Day Blogging Challenge, Dorm Eating and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dorm Eating: Snacks

  1. katyhancock says:

    I also like oatmeal and hummus, though not together 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Thanks so much for sharing! I wish I had known about this when I was in school! I remember lots and lots of Doritos!

    • Healthy People Healthy Planet says:

      Yeah, there are lots of Doritos around campus. I see a lot of Mountain Dew, too (so much yuck). It’s definitely nice to have better choices available.

  3. Jan Robbins says:

    Love the snack ideas ~ Sometimes I get stuck and cannot think of a thing to snack on! Well, now I will just write these down on a card and viola ~ instant snack ideas! Thanks ~ 🙂

Join the Discussion!

