Phase Twelve: We Still Have a Long Way to Go

It’s been a two month long journey for my family to get to this point. We’ve replaced a lot of commercial products containing harmful chemicals with homemade, natural products that are good for our bodies and the environment. But just because I’ve gone through all the recipes I’ve had and now have to go back to school doesn’t mean we’re done. No. We still use store bought lotions, sunscreens, and hand washing dish soap. I’m sure I could find quite a few others if I looked.

While I’m taking a break for now, I will continue to search for ways to reduce the chemicals in my house. For example, next summer I will work on finding a homemade sunscreen. Look around yourself, though, because I will only be doing products either my mom or I use (and we’re pretty low maintenance).

It’s a hard and exhausting transition to make. Once you get used to it, it becomes a lot easier. Sometimes you are energized and can make a ton of products, and sometimes you are ready to slip back into convenience. It’s okay to take your time and go at your own pace, just don’t stop. Continue working to improve the health of your family and the planet. If you want to continue finding natural alternatives, check out Casey Kellar’s book Natural Alternatives for You and Your Home: 175 Recipes to Make Eco-Friendly Products. This is a really great book with recipes for all sorts of products. It even has instructions for making your own soap or essential oils! Some of the recipes are more complicated than really necessary, but there is a lot of good information.

If you want to go a different route, join me in my next series as I discuss reducing waste.

About How We Flourish

Welcome! I'm Chloe. I have a passion for creating a healthy life and a healthy environment. Join me as I explore homemade and reusable products, essential oils, and real food. Look around a bit. I look forward to getting to know you.
This entry was posted in Transition to Chemical-Free and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Discussion!

