Phase Nine: Toothpaste

Toothpaste gave me the most trouble when looking for a healthy, eco-friendly option. Did you know that you should avoid glycerin in toothpaste because it coats the teeth and prevents saliva from working, therefore decreasing re-mineralization and increasing cavities? Yeah. Now go and see how many natural and homemade toothpastes have glycerin. Apparently, fluoride isn’t necessary either, and might not even be beneficial. In fact, there is talk that it could be harmful. The main example from the article is that fluoride may be linked to hypothyroidism, which runs in my family. The last thing I want to do is increase my risk!

As I looked at homemade toothpastes, there was no internet consensus on what is good for your teeth. That made me nervous. I didn’t want to make a random recipe and find out it ate away my tooth enamel! So I resigned myself to store bought toothpastes. But as I looked at the ingredients for natural ones, many had glycerin and some even had sodium lauryl sulfate! No thanks.

After searching and searching, I found Earthpaste. Finally! The more research I did on this toothpaste, the better it seemed. It has five ingredients (plus water) and the company outlines the purpose of each ingredient on their website. I have never seen a bad review for this product and it seems to work really well. The problem? It’s pretty expensive for a college student. I joined their Facebook page in order to take advantages of the free samples they give out periodically. But I wanted a permanent solution I could afford. So I kept searching and found this recipe.

This was perfect! It essentially was Earthpaste for a fraction of the cost! I got the ingredients and made up a test batch: “one part” was 1/4 tsp and I added a drop of tea tree oil (love this stuff). I didn’t really like that it was a powder, so I decided to try to make a paste. I added water in 1/8 tsp increments because the clay likes to clump and be messy to mix. 3/4 tsp of water got me to a good consistency. Now to try it.

It took some getting used to and it tasted a bit salty. But wow! My teeth feel amazing! They feel smooth and even the backs of my front teeth, which I have trouble getting clean, feel great. It even works well on my retainers (Yes, even after 5 years I still wear my retainers every night. I’m not going back to those nasty pre-braces teeth!). I have hope, too, that this mixture of ingredients will help keep away canker sores. I’m definitely making a larger batch for when I go back to college.

Of course, the real test will be at the end of January when I go back to the dentist. I had the beginnings of a cavity (my first since I lost my baby teeth) last time I went. Here’s hoping it’ll be gone and my teeth look better than ever!

Whether you decide to buy Earthpaste or make your own, I highly recommend this toothpaste. I love the ingredients and I love the way my teeth feel. What more can you ask for?

Update 9/22/12: I’ve been using my homemade toothpaste for about a month. When I went to school, I made up a large batch of the powder, since I didn’t want to deal with keeping it hydrated. I just wet my toothbrush and coat the tips of the bristles with the powder, and that is enough for my whole mouth. My teeth continue to feel absolutely amazing and I think they are actually whiter. I rinse out my mouth to get rid of the dry feeling, but my teeth have never felt this good before, so it’s totally worth it. Just remember to keep flossing! I also use mouthwash, and I’m hoping to get a recipe for homemade soon.

Update 1/31/13:
I went to the dentist today. I did not have my normal dental hygenist, so I don’t know how my teeth are compared to last time. But, the hygenist and the dentist both told me multiple times how great my teeth look. They also told me that I have no cavities or even anything to keep an eye on (besides my wisdom teeth that haven’t come in, of course). Some of this is probably due to the fact that I’ve been really diligent about flossing, but I am still taking it to mean that this homemade toothpaste is fantastic and works well enough that the dentist will compliment your teeth!

About How We Flourish

Welcome! I'm Chloe. I have a passion for creating a healthy life and a healthy environment. Join me as I explore homemade and reusable products, essential oils, and real food. Look around a bit. I look forward to getting to know you.
This entry was posted in Transition to Chemical-Free and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Phase Nine: Toothpaste

  1. I am so excited the tooth powder worked for you! I had the exact same feeling in my mouth when I used it for the first time. Loved it. Feel free to play with the recipe to suit your tastes. I have been experimenting with the salt content and flavors based on my mood.

    I’m going to poke around and see how your journey to ‘green your life’ is going. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Redmond Trading Company | Healthy People, Healthy Planet

  3. Pingback: Transition to Chemical-Free: A Picture | Healthy People, Healthy Planet

Join the Discussion!

